Welcome to Special Education
Dee Deitz

Palestine ISD Special Education provides specially designed instruction developed to support students with special education disabilities. The intent of the support services is to enable students to make progress in the general curriculum, to participate in extracurricular and nonacademic activities, and to be educated and participate with non-disabled peers to the maximum extent appropriate. 

   

Central Office

Director: Andi Howie ahowie@palestineschools.org

Administrative Assistant: Kay Hill khill@palestineschools.org

PEIMS/SER Clerk: Cathie Thorn cthorn@palestineschools.org

Assistive Technology Specialist: Victoria Mayberry vmayberry@palestineschools.org

Autism Specialist: Janet Lewis jlewis@palestineschools.org

Licensed Master Social Worker: Holly Nealy hnealy@palestineschools.org

Counselor: Vicki McGill vmcgill@palestineschools.org

Occupational Therapist: Lindsey Mitchell lmitchell@palestineschools.org

Certified OT Assistant: Stephanie Atkins satkins@palestineschools.org

Interpreter: Lizbet Roman lroman@palestineschools.org

Interpreter: Bianca Guitz bguitz@palestineschools.org

 

High School

Educational Diagnostician: Millye Bailey mbailey@palestineschools.org

Educational Diagnostician: Kristina Anderson kanderson1@palestineschools.org

Speech Pathologist: Ellen Cleveland ecleveland@palestineschools.org

ARD Facilitator: Nicole Carroll ecarroll@palestineschools.org

Transition Coordinator (HS)/Teacher: Melanie Herron mherron@palestineschools.org

 

Junior High

Educational Diagnostician: Robin Rose rrose@palestineschools.org

Transition Coordinator (JH): Ann Paine apaine@palestineschools.org

Story

Educational Diagnostician/Transition (Elementary) : Rene Thomason   rthomason@palestineschools.org

Educational Diagnostician (all level): Maria Coronado mcoronado@palestineschools.org

Speech Pathologist: Kathy Williams kwilliams@palestineschools.org

ARD Facilitator: Ruth Mondich  rmondich@palestineschools.org

South Side

Educational Diagnostician: Jamie Atchley jatchley@palestineschools.org

Speech Pathologist: Lareen Chonzena lchonzena@palestineschools.org

North Side

Educational Diagnostician: Angela Fitzgerald afitzgerald@palestineschools.org

Speech Pathologist: Holly Gonzalez hgonzalez@palestineschools.org

District Parent Liaison: Paige Boroughs cboroughs@palestineschools.org

Speech Therapy Assistant: Susie Reyes areyes@palestineschools.org

 
-
Office: PISD Administration Office, 1007 East Park Avenue.
Phone: 903-731-8033
Hours: 8 - 4:30 Monday through Thursday, 8 - 4 on Fridays
Summer hours: 7 - 5 Monday through Thursday

SB 139

SB 139

-

Child Find

    Palestine Independent School District is ready, willing and able to identify and serve all children with disabilities residing within its jurisdiction who are in need of special education and related services.  The district is responsible for identifying, locating, and evaluating children from birth through age 21, with known or suspected disabilities who reside in and/or attend school within the school district’s boundaries to determine whether a need for special education and related services exists. Child Find includes children who reside in group or nursing homes and/or who attend private or homeschools within the district’s boundaries regardless of place of residence.

    Any community member who is concerned with the welfare of a child may participate in the Child Find process. Child Find accepts referrals for children who may have a disability. Parent involvement and agreement is obtained prior to any further action. Information is confidential and the privacy of the child and parents is protected. Should an assessment be required, it is provided at no cost to the parent.  If you suspect or know of a child who has one or more of the following disabilities, please contact our offices.

    Special Education Services are available to eligible students ages 0-21 who may be experiencing difficulties in one or more of the following areas:

  • Auditory Impairment
  • Autism
  • Deaf/Blind
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Learning Disability
  • Non-Categorical
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Health Impairment
  • Speech and/or Language
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment

-

    Palestine ISD provides a full continuum of services for students who are eligible for special education. Services are carefully designed for the successful implementation of the each student’s Individual Education Plan (IEP) in the least restrictive environment (LRE). The intent of services is to enable students to make progress in the general curriculum, to participate in extracurricular and nonacademic activities and to be educated and participate with non-disabled peers to the maximum extent appropriate. Based on the individual needs of the student with disabilities, specially designed instruction is outlined in the IEP.

    Services, at no cost, are available to all eligible individuals regardless of the severity of their disability. For more information contact the Palestine ISD Special Education office at 903-731.8033.

-

Destruction of Special Education Files Notice:

Special Education records that have been collected by the Palestine Independent School District (PISD) related to the identification, evaluation, educational placement, or the provision of Special Education in the  district, must be maintained under state and federal laws for a period of five years after Special Education services have ended for the student.  Special Education services end when the student is no longer eligible for services, graduates, completes his or her educational program at age 22, or moves from the district.

    This notice is to inform parents/guardians and former students of PISD’s intent to destroy the Special Education records of students who are no longer receiving Special Education services as of May 21, 2022.  These records will be destroyed in accordance with state law unless the parent/guardian or eligible adult student notifies the school district to secure a copy of their records.

    After five years, the records are no longer needed by the district, but may be useful to the parent/guardian or former student in applying for Social Security benefits, rehabilitation services, college entrance, etc.  The parent/guardian or eligible adult student may request the records in writing or in person at the following address:

Palestine Special Education Department
1007 East Park Avenue
Palestine, Texas  75801
Phone:  903-731-8033
Email:  ahowie@palestineschools.org

Request for records must be received by May 1, 2022

-

-